C-SPAN2 TO SHOW AMERICAN REVOLUTION FORUM (9/30 & 10/1)

carl william spitzer iv cwsiv_2nd at JUNO.COM
Sun Oct 1 20:48:13 MDT 2000


We are pleased to announce that our recent Independent Policy Forum,
"The American Revolution and the Legacy of Liberty," will be shown on
C-SPAN2's BookTV this weekend:

       September 30 at 11 p.m. Eastern Time (8 p.m. Pacific Time)
       October 1 at 8 p.m. Eastern Time (5 p.m. Pacific Time)

Historians Joyce Appleby (author, INHERITING THE REVOLUTION: The
First Generation of Americans) and Hans Eicholz (author, HARMONIZING
SENTIMENTS: The Declaration of Independence and the Jeffersonian Idea
of Self-Government), discuss:

       * the evolution of the concept of self-government
       * the conflict of visions between Loyalists and Patriots
       * four trends that shaped the first generation of Americans:
         -- political radicalism
         -- religious revivalism
         -- economic opportunity, especially for the young
         -- abolition of slavery in the North
       * the emergence of an American self-identity: "man the doer"
       * the influence of this ideal on women and African-Americans
       * fundamental differences between the North and South

For a transcript of "The American Revolution and the Legacy of
Liberty," along with Joyce Appleby's recommended autobiographies of
early Americans, see
http://www.independent.org/tii/lighthouse/LHLink2-37-7.html

For Joyce Appleby's interview on PBS's NewsHour, see
http://www.independent.org/tii/lighthouse/LHLink2-37-8.html

Kevin L.
NE Orygunn
"Guns Save Lives" http://GunsSaveLives.com
Oregon Tyranny Response Team http://www.clatskanie.com/trtoregon/


________________________________________________________________
YOU'RE PAYING TOO MUCH FOR THE INTERNET!
Juno now offers FREE Internet Access!
Try it today - there's no risk!  For your FREE software, visit:
http://dl.www.juno.com/get/tagh.



More information about the Rushtalk mailing list